Articles

Respect

In Ramblings on March 10, 2006 by Cody McComas

I agree with this. My mother is a very intelligent person.

5 Responses to “Respect”

  1. Not to mention our Grandmother! How dare I go that far beyond the norm!
    Amy

  2. Ok, at the risk of playing the jerk, where does the “mother-as-technologically-clueless” cliche come from? Has it no basis in common experience?

    But I like that someone has done research to support mothers’ getting smarter from motherhood, and I believe that must be true.

    My thought on this: if some (or even many) mothers fall behind technological change it may be because they’re doing more important things like teaching or defending moral and ethical values, providing for their families, etc.

  3. Jared- I like pointing out that mothers are busy doing important things. Teaching, nurturing. Not wasting time learning how to subscribe to RSS feeds. At the end of the day it doesn’t matter if one can send attachements in emails, but it does matter that a moral ground is defended. Thank you Jared. I agree.

  4. Should I be offended that my Mom described her latest washing machine as so simple that even I could use it?

  5. Ian-yes you should.

Leave a Reply

