Articles

September 11

In Uncategorized on September 11, 2007 by Cody McComas

Never Forget.

One Response to “September 11”

  1. Never forget.
    Such weighted words for a red letter day.
    I find it interesting how we can map where we – as a nation – are now from a collective red letter day.
    When I think of this day (which is more often than I would like) I think about my brother’s friend Brett who lost his father that day. How shortly after my brother made the decision he would be a Marine. In the past 3 ½ years he has spent 2 ½ in Iraq fighting a war that started on that day – still we are at war. Perhaps at fifteen that choice was the only one he could make to regain control in a senseless situation.
    I think the wonderful city that I lived in just three short months before and how it was changed after that day.
    I think about all the ramifications – the thousands of ripple effects – that came from that day.
    Mostly I try to focus and think about all the positive things that happened after; people helping people and moments of human compassion. Out of sheer disbelief and raw emotion I still cling to the good things that I can find in order to put the tragedy in perspective.
    Most often in my remembering I find that the following words (from what is sort of a cheesy song) give me some perspective:
    “I know Jesus and I talk to God
    And I remember this from when I was young
    Faith hope and love are some good things he gave us
    And the greatest is love.”

    So if I may be so bold I’d like to say in response: Never Forget… and bigger than that don’t lose your voice in that respectful moment. Pray for Peace. Pray for the world to be filled with Love and Compassion. Pray for a world in which the ripple effects of our actions can be metered back to days that are known for our good works. Use the voice you were given to counteract evil, hate and ugliness at every turn with good, love and beauty. Do not waiver in the quest to be a better person simply for the sake of it. Each one of us is capable of changing the world for the better – use the potential you have been given.

Leave a Reply

