Articles

Top 10 Life Ruining Movies

In Ramblings on December 10, 2007 by Cody McComas

3. The Notebook: Not all men are created equal. Which is easy to say not all men are equal to Ryan Gosling. This movie just ruined the relationships of anyone between the ages of 15 and 30. So how many guys out there have been asked one of those impossible questions like “So if I have Alzheimer’s and don’t remember that we are married, will you sit with me every night and tell me the two hour story of how we met and fell in love out of hope that I will remember? Even if I only remember for a moment, and as soon as my Alzheimer’s kicks back in – I attack you in a confused frenzy?” After a question like that, I could only answer it with another question. Do you remember the hell you gave me when I forgot the name of the restaurant we met at? Well now you don’t even remember that I’m your husband…Sorry babe, but my answer is no. [via]

I completely agree. This movie has ruined the expectations of more than a few girls. But then again so has Paris Hilton.

*Update* My friend Kelli made a comment on this post, and she expresses what I was really trying to say. “Bottom line, I don’t like movies that are unrealistic and make you think your own life sucks because it is not as good as a fiction story that someone else made up.” Thanks Kelli.

4 Responses to “Top 10 Life Ruining Movies”

  1. I can see where you are coming from, BUT I do think there are men out there who would act similarly for the woman they loved for decades. Exhibit A: My grandpa–he stayed by my grandma’s side as she was dieing from cancer in a hospital. He walked there everyday and held her hand for most of the day. I am not saying that I expect my husband to do what the character in the book did, but I do hope that he would be there for me in some way–even if it was just to be my friend and make conversation with me. Sure he can move on with his life, but don’t completely forget about me:)

  2. I may be odd, but I didn’t like The Notebook. For one thing, the scene after it’s pouring rain and they argue and then start clinging to one another while making out…when they are going into the house he picks her up and uses her body to push the door open and then literally slams her back into the wall. That is supposed to be how you show passion I guess. However, i’m pretty sure that in real life she would have broken a rib or something, pushed him off of her and doubled over in pain…thus bringing the “moment” to a screeching halt.

    Bottom line, I don’t like movies that are unrealistic and make you think your own life sucks because it is not as good as a fiction story that someone else made up. We miss a lot of great things in our lives if we think the only thing that makes life worth living is physical passion. I’m not saying it’s not important, just that movies make it seem like that is what a life full of “meaning” is only all about. If you believe that, then you have been duped and will meet with a lot of disappointment in your life.

  3. Why is true love thought to be fictitious? Is it because couples have forgotten that it takes a little work to make it wonderful? Why sell yourself short as far as how you are going to treat the one you are married to? It’s not a fairy tale. It lives true in many couples lives. The passion and the love and the caring can get stronger and more real through the years. All you girls that have a guy that doesn’t believe in romance, you might want to look elsewhere.

  4. oops, forgot my name on that last one

Leave a Reply

